Fashion I Love: Proenza Schouler, Christopher Kane, Marni x H&M

I wish I had something new and exciting to talk about in my personal fashion life. But unfortunately, no new clothes, no radical new interpretations of what I already own, and no time to think about anything other than midterms. And Breaking Bad, sometimes I think about that too. So instead of sharing something cool and new in my life, I am just going to share my opinions on a few things going on in the world of fashion.

Number 1: Fashion Week. I live less than two hours from NYC, but I didn’t venture in for Fashion Week. I did, however, keep my eyes peeled for anything particularly stellar that showed up online. I usually have trouble conceptualizing fall fashion when we’re just on the brink of spring, but I am kind of loving Proenza Schouler for Fall 2012, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez have outdone themselves. Too many of the silhouettes are dense and baggy and far less “pret-a-porter” than the collection would imply, but I love the preppy-meets-biker-chick vibe, the cute metallic/plastic wrap mini skirts, the collarless structured jackets, and their cool take on the sheath dress–I would spend all my money on sheath dresses if I could. And that insane, woven-basket texture was such a gorgeous effect. I love the trend toward unconventional materials that we’ve seen on the spring and fall runways; I feel like I’ve been waiting forever for this to happen to fashion.

 
And speaking of unusual materials…
Number 2: Christopher Kane and his sheer plastic florals. I know I’m behind the times on this one, it was part of the spring collection, yadiyaddah. I don’t care, I LOVE the way these designs look, and I’ve already started trying to integrated a similar (but cheaper) effect into my spring wardrobe. Its also just so refreshing from Christopher Kane, whose clothes I tend to find a little bit trashy, generally. This is maybe a little bit kitschy, but in an adorable, wearable way. Its feels like what a hip downtown girl would wear to a garden party. Plus, I think its kind of sweet that the models are wearing old-lady comfy sandals, its so unusual to see girls on the runway who are apparently comfortably shod.
And now, to venture into a more affordable sphere…
Number 3: Marni x H&M. This collaboration is finally here, and I am thrilled. Every college student who loves fashion loves collaborations, because they’re affordable. But there hasn’t really been anything exciting since Missoni for Target. Versace x H&M was honestly kind of disappointing to me, despite the hype. For the most part, everything was gaudy and a little bit too Donatella. The only thing I really liked was a studded leather sheath dress (big surprise) which sold out in the blink of an eye. I had high hopes for Jason Wu for Target, but its looking kind of safe, not very exciting from a fashion standpoint. So that brings us to Marni. Marni is low-key, but still edgy. And it has amazing patterns. I love a diverse range of patterns that jumble together in ways that horrify my boyfriend. Also, everything in the collection sort of looks like it was taken from some piece of psychedelic 70’s upholstery, which I can definitely work with.

So many PRINTS! I’m pretty sure I could wear these three things together, and love every minute of it.

I’ll post an update if any one of these glorious pieces ever comes in to my possession, but I can tell you right now that the closest I’ll ever get to any of these things is one half of a pair of Marni earrings that I find on the ground next to the barren wasteland where all of the Marni merch was before it sold out.

*runway photos from vogue, marni photos from h&m website

Leave a Reply

