An Irresponsible Vacation

So, remember how I said I was going to post everyday? Turns out that real life sort of intervenes…  I went on a weekend jaunt to New York City with my boyfriend, and then had academic work to catch up on.  But I’m back, and hopefully I’ll have a little bit more time in the next few weeks.

Now, I know it isn’t strictly fashion-related, but I thought I’d share a few of my NYC experiences here as well. As a truly fabulous city (on its good days), New York is at least fashion-adjacent.

On Friday night, I went to see the new Pedro Almodovar movie at the Sunshine Cinema in the Lower East Side. If you were planning on seeing it, I won’t ruin anything, but let me just say that it was really fucking weird. This is a film in which about twenty different levels of perversion exist simultaneously. Also, Antonio Banderas is the protagonist, so you can forget about ever enjoying Shrek again.

After that, I went to a Japanese place called Omen with my boyfriend, and his dad, stepmom, and sister. It was all delicious, I tried tuna tartare (a major step, as I’m not a big raw fish person), and generally had a blast.

Saturday was just really chill and nerdy. Suffice to say that I played my first videogame, it was Skyrim, and after an hour, my muscles were really sore from constantly flinching when I got attacked.

Sunday was gorgeous. New York seriously shook its tail feather on Sunday. It was so crisp and clear and perfect that it almost made up for how disgusting it was this summer when I was working there.* I went out to breakfast at Izzy and Nat’s with the bf, and his mom and her boyfriend. I tried pastrami, which was yet another new culinary experience for me. I then went uptown to the Met for a couple of hours and got my art history on. Then it was back to college and the real world.

Now, you may ask, where was the fashion in this weekend away?

Right here! In this little Vivienne Westwood clutch! It was a gift from my boyfriend’s stepmom, who just got back from a business trip. It is completely darling, but somehow also retains Westwood’s badass 1980’s British punker vibe. I love it.

On that high-falutin’ note, I bid you adieu! And promise that I will actually post over Thanksgiving break.

*I will almost certainly devote an entire post to the pros and cons of living in NYC in the summer.

Leave a Reply

